Dragons and other fun

This weekend I had the pleasure of going to Buffalo to see the How to Train your Dragon live show which was a birthday present from my lovely friend Lisa of Lisa Cookies. It was one of the most visually interesting shows I have ever seen. They had partnered up with dinosaur animatronics to create the dragons and it looked amazing.

The largest dragon with animated wings

Yesterday I was on a low carb day of my carb cycling program so I knew I could not rely on eating out to fulfill my nutrition needs. So I packed up some Turkey Meatloaf muffins, a baby cucumber and some snap peas for lunch on the road along with some hard-boiled eggs and some left over salad and pork chops if I needed dinner as well. I didn’t end up needing the eggs or dinner, but I felt a lot better knowing they were there. I was able to do that without too much effort because I had cooked extra pork chops, hard-boiled eggs and about 8 turkey muffins in my fridge at the moment, so it was no different than packing the days meals for work.

The issue when traveling or going to an event is that other people are going to need to eat too, so you will be stopping at unhealthy places and seeing other people eat things that don’t fit in with your diet. On the ride down I ate my packed lunch as my boyfriend sat munching on a granola bar being very hungry because he didn’t have time to grab food before we left and didn’t want hard-boiled eggs. When we got to the show there were some (unhealthy) food options and he went with the pizza. He actually blotted the top with a napkin because it was so greasy! It did however, look and smell delicious and I’m not a big pizza fan (before you get all up in arms, this is because I’ve always felt sick afterwards because I didn’t realize I have a problem with gluten). My friends got some popcorn of which I had exactly one kernel because I love popcorn. I on the other hand, got a bag on in shell peanuts because I didn’t feel like cracking open some hard-boiled eggs in the middle of a show. Peanuts actually fit pretty well into a low carb diet, they have some carbs, but more fat and equal protein.

After the show we were all pretty hungry so we decided to stop in Niagara falls for dinner. believe it or not, it’s actually pretty easy to stick to your diet while eating out if you choose the right type of restaurant and are willing to be firm with your requests. We went to the Beef Baron and I ordered a 12 oz steak requesting that half of it be packed up for me before I started my meal (the waiter asked if I wanted it cooked first which made me laugh) and a side of steamed vegetables instead of a baked potato or something else. I don’t feel deprived eating like that at all, and it fits in with my diet pretty well. If you have the will power to make good choices and make some smart substitutions you can still enjoy a nice dinner out with friends while you are on a diet (just stay away from the bread basket no matter how tempting it is).

By the time we got home I had successfully completed my second round of low carb days without too much effort. This morning I started my high carb day with this beauty of an oatmeal combo that I like to call…

Reese`s Pieces Oats

Reese`s Pieces Oats

This is essentially chocolate oatmeal topped with peanut butter… as an aside, I love how the peanut butter melts and looks some of like a leaf sitting up top.

The ingredients are:

  • 1/3 c. large flake oats
  • 1/3 c. water
  • 1/2 c. egg whites
  • 1/4 c. skim milk
  • 1 tbsp dutch process cocoa (or cocoa of choice)
  • 2 pkg. splenda (or sweetener of choice to taste)
  • 1 tbsp. natural peanut butter

Directions:

  1. Combine water, egg whites and oats in a sauce pan and bring to a boil over high heat stirring frequently.
  2. When boiling, turn heat to low and simmer until very thick while stirring frequently.
  3. Add the splenda and cocoa and stir to combine.
  4. Add the milk which will thin in considerably and bring back to a boil until desired thickness is reached.
  5. Serve in a bowl and top with the peanut butter (I stir mine all together so every bite tastes like chocolate and peanut butter heaven)

Nutritional Information:     Cals – 340     Carbs – 36 g      Fats – 12 g     Protein – 27 g

* if you use caloric sweetener remember to add that into the calories and macro count.

This is a wonderful 100% healthy high carb meal. After 6 days of carb cycling, what I can definitely say is I like the variety. It hardly feels like a diet at all. On the low carb days I can indulge in some higher fat foods that I love like avocados, nuts, whole eggs, cheeses and fattier portions of meat. On the high carb days I can have my fruits, oatmeal (which is one of my favourite things to experiment with different flavour combos), yogurt & muesli and a latte if I want one. Of course there are some foods that are off-limits entirely, like ice cream and candy, but overall within a course of 3 days I get to indulge in all the types of foods I want. It just takes some will power in controlling the timing of the foods. If you have been struggling with a restrictive diet, or have hit a plateau, think about giving it a try. Connect with me on Facebook if you have any questions or leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

