Mind games and the scale

I love this quote and yet sometimes I feel like I’m tethered to the scale, especially right now leading up to the fitness competition. I have an incredibly difficult time losing weight and my day starts off with a gamble on whether the scale will move up or down. Down and I feel great! I feel like I succeeded the prior day and that I can keep going… Up and I start wondering what the hell I did wrong the day before that it’s no going the right direction and will probably have a not so great mood for the next hour. In reality the day to day fluctuations don’t really matter, but even looking at the weekly fluctuations, hitting a plateau can really take the wind out of your sails when you are working yourself so hard. To deal with this i try to do the following:

  • Take progress pictures like the ones I posted here and compare those to the befores… did I change or not? I probably did so ignore the scale.
  • Measure you chest, hips, waist and thighs and see the changes
  • Get your body fat measured; I have a body fat scale but it’s not very accurate, I usually ask the gym if I can use theirs which will give me an idea if my body fat is decreasing. If that number isn’t moving that is a bigger problem than the scale number.
  • Look at how my clothes fit, as long as they are getting looser (except for the thighs which are always tight on me) then we are moving in the right direction
  • Look in the mirror… notice anything different?
  • Think about what you ate yesterday if the scale went up… did I have a lot of salt at dinner? was yesterday a carb up? maybe I’m retaining water.

These can really help you deal with the psychology of scale weight. But the biggest thing I can recommend is DON’T USE A SCALE! I’m serious! Hide it somewhere and only use it if you think you need to. I don’t normally weight myself, but this competition requires a bit closer tracking than just the mirror. I don’t really care what I weigh, but if I’m pushing myself to the limit and not losing weight that can be really upsetting. So for everyone else out there that gets upset at the scale… chuck it out the window… I bet you’ll feel way better 🙂

Now, that is not to say that I haven’t been losing weight. Carb cycling has really pushed through this last plateau and I am down 2.5 pounds in about 1.5 weeks, which is pretty good and I’ve been loving it. Last night I made the most awesome low carb dinner ever! It was a bit salty so the scale went up about half a pound this morning, but per the above, I’m dealing with it. This was the:

Low Carb Burger from Heaven

Low carb cheeseburger with a side salad… happy low carb day!

 Ingredients:

  • 1 Portobello mushroom cap
  • 1 5 oz. extra lean burger patty  (I bought some frozen “Popeye” burgers which are made from extra lean grass-fed beef, mixed with onions, spices, spinach and cottage cheese)
  • 1/2 tbsp oil
  • Toppings of your choice – mine were:
    • 2 tbsp homemade guacamole (avocado, tomatoes, onions, chile pepper, lime juice, cilantro)
    • 1 handful spinach
    • 1 oz smoked cheddar cheese
    • 1 tsp cheddar ale mustard

Directions: (Really these don’t need directions other than maybe the “bun”)

The “bun” and toppings

    1. Slice mushroom cap horizontally so you have 2 circular pieces that can be used as the bun
    2. If you have a barbecue, grill it on the barbecue and I’m sure it will be delicious, otherwise heat a pan to high heat and pan fry the mushroom cap
    3. Cook the burger in your desired fashion, I did mine in a pan and added the cheese so it got nice and melty
    4. Construct your burger using the mushroom as the bun like this.

Nutritional Info (without toppings): Cals – 325     Carbs – 5 g     Fats – 16 g     Protein – 40 g Nutritional Info (with toppings): Cals – 490     Carbs – 9 g     Fats – 29 g     Protein – 47 g

Leave a Reply

