Trainers are all sadists!

I think it might be a requirement of the job.

Interviewer: Do you like causing people pain?

Prospective Trainer: Yes!

Interviewer: Great, you’re hired!

This is forefront in my mind because last night I had to most intense, draining, painful workout of my life! Seriously, this is not in the rotation for people looking to get fit or who are not slight masochists. Everything was supersetted, all the exercises were variations of traditional ones so they targeted muscles in ways that they aren’t normally targeted, and everything was HARD! I also made the mistake of doing a 12 minute “warm up” that involved some sprinting (note: it’s full on cardio if you end up sprinting) so my legs had already been drained a bit AND I was at the end of my second day of low carbs so I already had little to no glycogen left in my muscles. For those of you not familiar with it, glycogen is stored sugar in your muscles and is the prefered fuel for anaerobic/intense exercises and you can only store between 300 – 500 grams in your muscles at a time. Since I had a total of about 100 g of carbs over the previous 2 days AND had worked out the day before, I am guessing that I didn’t have a whole lot left for this workout.

I will call this The masochist’s leg workout and it went like this:

Superset 1: A – Stiff leg deadlifts   B – Reverse hack squats on the machine with a wide stance

Set 1 – 15 reps each            Set 2 – increase weight, 12 reps each               Set 3 – Increase weight, 12 reps each AND drop set the hack squats for a total of 45 reps

Superset 2:  A – Sumo deadlifts with narrow grip     B – Single leg hamstring curls

Set 1 – 12 reps each, plus 12 “pulses” on curls           Set 2 – increase weight, repeat set 1            Set 3 – repeat set 2 (do not increase weight)

Superset 3:  A – Backward lunges from a step (i.e. start standing on a small step and step back into a lunge) pushing through to a knee raise and squeeze glutes      B – Lunges on the smith machine with front foot far forward and pressure going through the front leg (targets the hamstrings and glutes)

Only 2 sets, both the same – 12 reps each leg, for each exercise with as little rest between as possible

 Superset 4: A – leg extensions          B – Walking half-up lunges (do a full lunge but keep your leg bent as you take the step for the next lunge to keep tension on the muscle to whole time)

Only 2 sets, both the same – leg extension “21’s” (this is where you do 7 full extensions, 7 from the bottom half way up, 7 from half way up to the top), 20 walking lunges with dumbbells if you can.

And that my friends is a KILLER workout in under 1 hour. I have never felt as drained as I did after this and I push myself pretty hard. Trainers have a way of making you go that much more and giving that last drop. I was dripping with sweat and the only superset I made it through without stopping was the first one. After that I would have to stop for a few seconds in the middle of sets because I literally could not do another one. At one point on the smith machine lunges I just sat down because my leg would not support me, took about 5 seconds rest and then kept going. There were multiple times (like 8-10) where I would stop at the bottom of a rep (i.e. mid-way through) and I actually whimpered at the end of my last set of walking lunges… the trainer laughed and said “I love my job”. Then after all that I thanked him profusely!

Who knew I could push that hard?

I also did 30 minutes on the stairmaster after chugging a protein shake with added glutamine in hopes that I would be able to walk this morning, so far so good :).

Ok so now you have the most brutal leg workout of all time… what might you eat after said workout. Obviously some steak!  Only I don’t have a barbecue, so stir fry steak it is.

Super simplified broccoli beef

Broccoli Beef

Ingredients (for 1 serving):

  • 5 oz sirloin or other lean steak cut (I had some leftover steak so I used that)
  • 1.5 cups broccoli florets cut medium or small
  • 1/4 medium yellow onion sliced into strips
  • 1/2 tbsp olive oil
  • 1 tbsp teriyaki sauce

Directions:

  1. In a medium skillet heat oil to high heat
  2. Add onions and sautee until starting to brown (2 mins)
  3. Add broccoli and cover with a lid to stem for 2 -4 mins until bright green mixed every minute or so
  4. Add beef and cook until desired doneness
  5. Add teriyaki sauce and mix to coat evenly
  6. Serve and enjoy

Nutritional Info:   Cals – 400       Carbs – 11 g    Fats – 19 g       Protein – 46 g

This was a pretty large portion but felt just right after that leg workout. If you aren’t on a carb restricted diet, this would go great over some brown rice or quinoa.

Oh and this morning started out as a usual carb up morning does, with a fantastic new combo for oats… Raspberries and cream oats. But I think one recipe is enough for today, so you’ll have to come back tomorrow for that one 😉 If you can’t wait check out this page for recipes.

One thought on “Trainers are all sadists!

  1. Pingback: 1 month to go to UFE Halloween Mayhem!!!! | On The Go Fitness

Leave a Reply

