Saturday cardio and self sabotage

I currently sit here drinking a lovely post-cardio shake that I did not take a picture of because it doesn’t look like much, but this is a similar shake from a post of Eat Clean Diet. I looooove chocolate and raspberries together and this is absolutely delicious plus super simple and quick to make.

Raspberry Chocolate Protein Shake

Ingredients:

1 scoop protein powder of choice in chocolate or vanilla (I like BioX Power Whey Complex in Rocky Road)

2/3 c. frozen raspberries (if using fresh, just add ice)

1 c. unsweetened, unflavoured almond milk (or milk of choice)1 tsp. cocoa powder

1 pkg. Splenda or sweetener of choice

  • Directions: Throw everything in a blender (I use my magic bullet) and blend until smooth.

Nutritional Info: Cals – 230   Carbs – 14 g    Fats – 6 g   Protein 28 g

I really didn’t feel like making a huge meal and dirtying up my kitchen at 9 PM but I had just done about an hour of cardio and needed to have something nutritious with a good mix of protein and carbs (only a few).

After my progress pics yesterday I was feeling pretty good about the whole competition diet. But as I start to lose my body fat I find myself getting tired easily. It probably doesn’t help that my workouts are getting longer and I’m adding more cardio. Yet I’m decreasing my food intake. No wonder I’m feeling sluggish. Today was supposed to be a carb up, and I did eat more carbs than on a low carb day but I would call it “moderate” carbs at about 120 g for the day because I really did not feel like hitting the gym hard and couldn’t justify the higher carbs on a lack luster gym day.

Today I went to a baseball game, out to eat and was back at my house around 6 feeling like taking a nap and lamenting the fact that my legs (particularly my bum) were rather sore from yesterday’s glute and hamstring centric workout. The gym by my place closes at 8 PM on Saturdays so I had a decision to make: stay at home and lose a day of working out or drag myself to the gym and get in some kind of workout, good, bad or ugly. Since I was planning on meeting a friend tomorrow to work back and abs, I decided to just do a long cardio session. Not much thought involved in that. A trainer I have been talking to highly recommends the stair mill so that is what I had in mind. I changed into my gym clothes, grabbed a water bottle and my iPod and headed for the gym. It’s about a 15 power walk there which got my heart rate up but also gave me time to think… why was I feeling so lackluster today? Why didn’t I want to go to the gym when it’s usually something I look forward to?

Is this what they are talking about with Self Sabotage???

I really think it is!

Not that I don’t want to succeed, but it’s so much easier to stay on a couch that to walk to the gym and workout for an hour when you are already exhausted. There are a million excuses to not go and a lot of them go through my head daily but normally I love the gym, so it’s not hard to overcome those negative thoughts. Today was a little harder because, well, I hate cardio as I talk about here. So what pulled me through?

A major thing was that I still need to drop my body fat down and only have 4 weeks before the competition. Do I really want to get up on stage in a tiny bikini and not be where I want to be? NO. But that’s not really useful to you guys since most of you don’t have a competition looming, but goals can be incredible motivators. If you set yourself a deadline to achieve something, not sticking to the plan might/will end in you not achieving that goal. I don’t know about you but I HATE failing. Do you have a vacation planned? A fancy event? A birthday coming up? Why not set a fitness goal to achieve by that day? It will help hold you accountable.

The other thing that got me out the door, and this is corny, so I’m sorry, but it was those stupid motivational posters that say things like the hardest step in the one out your front door, and no matter how slow you go, you’re lapping everyone on the couch. I normally don’t need a tonne of help motivating myself. But just thinking about those things made me realize that once I’m at the gym, the tiredness will probably disappear. So I made a deal with myself that I would go for 10 minutes on the stair mill (my goal is to do 50 minutes on cardio days) and if I still felt awful, I could stop. But once you start going it seems like such a waste! You’re already there, you are already sweaty, you already have your heart rate up… just keep going… and I did. I did the whole 50 minutes! It was not my best workout, but I was sweaty and felt much better for having done it. Plus, now I don’t feel like I’ve wasted my carbs today!

So no more self sabotage. Every day counts, I have 4 weeks to go and I will not let myself get in the way of success!

But speaking of carbs… I have another delicious oatmeal recipe from today 🙂

Apple Cinnamon Oats

Apple cinnamon oats

The ingredients are:

  • 1/3 c. large flake oats
  • 1/2 c. water
  • 1/2 c. egg whites
  • 2 tbsp. unsweetened applesauce
  • 1/2 a medium apple, diced
  • 1 tbsp real maple syrup
  • a generous amount of cinnamon

Directions:

  1. Combine water, egg whites and oats in a sauce pan and bring to a boil over high heat stirring frequently.
  2. When boiling, turn heat to low and simmer until thick while stirring frequently.
  3. Add the applesauce and apples (i left a couple out to put on top for the picture but if you want a crunchier texture, leave all of them out and stir them in at the end) and stir to combine.
  4. Bring back to a boil until desired thickness is reached.
  5. Serve in a bowl and top with the maple syrup and cinnamon and mix it all in.

Nutritional Information:     Cals – 340     Carbs – 49 g      Fats – 0 g     Protein – 28 g

Leave a Reply

