Taste of Fall

Sunday mornings are great, there is even a wonderful song by Maroon 5 that I am currently listening to. There are only 2 things that would make it better…. (1) if I was able to sleep in instead of waking up at 7 am and (2) if my boyfriend were here instead of in Buffalo. But still, it’s Sunday morning. There is so much potential to the day. I have a workout planned with my best friend. I am going to try to find some competition heels (basically stripper heels… the clear plastic ones). I’m going to see my family in the afternoon. Sounds like a good plan to me!

Apparently to make up for waking me up at 7 am, my mind decided to gift me with an AWESOME dream. This is literally the coolest dream I have ever had. I was looking up how to make low carb and grain free pancakes yesterday, but they all involved bananas… which are pretty high carb and I don’t have any. So I went to bed a little disappointed. Then my stellar subconscious came up with a solution… it’s fall – fall equals pumpkins – use pumpkin instead of banana. It’s not as binding or thick as bananas but I also happen to have some xantham gum kicking around for gluten-free baking so that would probably help. Egg whites can be the liquid and maybe, just to be on the safe side and to add some substance I can add some almond meal that I picked up at Trader Joes in the States when I was there in August and haven’t yet used. Sub-conscious me…. you are a genius. Seriously – I dreamed up a recipe!

I was a little worried that it would not work at all and I was just being teased by my dreams, so I made half of what I would actually want to eat for a first attempt to see how it worked, and then would modify it for the second half if needed. But it worked! No modifications needed! Here is the recipe that I literally dreamed up last night. Thank you sub-conscious.

Paleo Pumpkin Pancakes (I like alliteration)

Paleo Pumpkin Pancakes ready to be devoured

Ingredients:

The ingredients

  • 1/2 c. Pumpkin puree (like E. D. Smith Pure pumpkin… not pie filling)
  • 1/2 c. liquid egg whites or 4 egg whites (real egg whites might hold together better, so try it out if you are less lazy than me)
  • 2 tbsp. Almond meal plus 1/4 tsp xantham gum (I’m guessing you could replace this combo with gluten-free flour or whole wheat flour minus the xantham gum and it would work, but no promises 😉 )
  • 1/2 tsp. baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla
  • 1 pkg splenda
  • generous amount of pumpkin pie spice

The pancakes starting to cook

Directions:

Add everything to a bowl and mix with a whisk or fork until combined.

Heat a skillet to medium heat and coat with butter (I find if I use a different oil the pancakes usually stick, so butter is usually my go to for pancakes)

Pour batter into pan, I made 4 pancakes with this recipe.

Cook 2-3 minutes until bubbles and holes appear all over the top of the pancake.

CAREFULLY flip the pancakes, because they don’t have wheat flour in them they are pretty delicate and will fall apart easily so go slowly and good luck!

Cook for another 2-3 minutes or more then serve.

*** my pancakes we undercooked in the middle but still tasted delicious, so maybe increase the time of cooking***

Nutritional Info (for the whole recipe):  Cals – 215 cals    Carbs – 14 g     Fats – 8 g     Protein – 21 g

So these are obviously very low-calorie and pretty low carb, but what’s nice is that most of the carbs (11 g) are from the pumpkin which is actually mostly fibre, so the net carbs are about 5 grams, which is really REALLY low carb pancakes 🙂

Since I am on a crazy competition diet I topped mine with a mixture of greek yogurt, pumpkin puree and splenda, but normal people should top these with real maple syrup and butter because it would be awesome.

Enjoy your Sunday! I’m off to workout.

Leave a Reply

