I have way too much broth!

Last night I did my second workout of the day which was as follows:

The Back Compliments workout *I am calling it this because about every other time I do any pull ups or rear delt flyes I get a comment on my back that varies from “how do I get a back like that?” to “Wow, you’re strong!” not followed by “for a girl” and this workout has both!

Warm up – 500 m of rowing (about 2 minutes) with close attention to form

  • Suppinated (hands facing you or up) pull-ups – bodyweight, 6-8 reps, 4 sets
  • Wide-grip lat pull-downs – 80 lbs, 12-15 reps, 4 sets, focus on slowly releasing and not letting the weight go fast
  • Suppinated bent over BB row – 70 lbs, 12 reps, 3 sets
  • Squat to cable row – 65 lbs, 12 reps, 4 sets
  • Bent over rear delt raises – 15 lbs (each hand), 12 reps, 4 sets
  • Back extensions – 25 lbs plate, 12 reps, 3 sets

Cardio – 1 hour stairmaster on 65-70 steps per minute, focus on tight squeezes through glutes and hamstrings

I am feelings much better today, so this workout didn’t leave me dying and I enjoyed a nice long stretch afterwards.

When I got home at 7:30, which is 13 hours after I left the house this morning, long day, I decided that the chicken I had bought needed to be cooked as it had been in the fridge for about 3.5 days and that is pushing it. I immediately started preheating my oven and popped in a leftover meal I had in the microwave for dinner as there was no way I was waiting until 10 pm to eat dinner. I use Jamie Oliver’s technique to roast chickens and didn’t take any pictures because I was tired and forgot… sorry. But here are the steps:

Jamie Oliver’s Roast Chicken

Ingredients:

  • 3.5-4 lb whole chicken (preferably free range)
  • 3-4 stalks celery
  • 1-2 medium onions
  • 3-4 large carrots
  • 4 cloves garlic
  • Olive oil to drizzle over the pan and bird
  • Spices to season: Salt, pepper, thyme, paprika

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 400 F.
  2. Roughly chop without peeling or doing anything, all the veggies including the garlic (just smash each clove) and distribute in the bottom of a small roasting pan.
  3. Add some olive oil and spices except paprika to the veggies and mix to coat, then make sure that the bottom of the pan is covered with the veggies (this is called a trivet).
  4. Drizzle olive oil on the chicken (this helps the skin get nice and crispy) then generously spice the outside AND inside of the chicken.
  5. Place on top of the vegetable trivet and place in the oven.
  6. Cook for about 1.5 hours (or 20 minutes PLUS 20 minutes per pound that your bird is… i.e. 20 mins +(4*20) = 1 hour and 40 minutes) or until the internal temperature is 165 F.
  7. At least twice during cooking, baste the bird in the juices from the pan to keep it moist and crisp up the skin even more.
  8. When finished, set the bird aside for 15 minutes to rest before carving.

I love this method because it is so simple and I also eat some of the veggies from the bottom of the tray that are soaking in the juices… yum!

Now you can either make an awesome gravy my mashing up the veggies in the pan and then adding some water and flour to the pan, simmering and thickening, then strain and serve… OR you can make broth, which is what I did.

Bone Broth

In the pot, looks like a reasonable amount.

  • After you have picked the chicken clean, take all the unused bits like skin, cartilage and bones and put them in a large pot with a lid, you can also through the veggies from the pan and any juices in the pot.
  • Then fill the pot with cold water high enough to cover the bones.
  • Bring the pot to a boil over high heat, reduce heat to low and simmer for anywhere from 3 – 24 hours.

Seriously, way too much broth!!!

I let mine simmer overnight for about 10 hours and ended up with about 3 litres of stock. I have no idea what I will use this much stock for, but it is a nutritional powerhouse, so I will find uses for it. It is SUPPOSED to reduce, but I guess my simmer was too low because it didn’t reduce very much at all!

One idea that I will use tonight is simple egg drop soup.

Bone broth has a multitude of benefits, but the 3 biggest ones are that

  1. it improves intestinal flora which can help with IBS, leaky gut and other intestinal issue,
  2. it is a great source of gelatin/collagen which is great for your shin, nails, hair and overall health, and
  3. it contains macro-minerals like calcium, magnesium, phosphorous etc in a form that our body can actually absorb and is easy to digest. So make your own broth!
2 thoughts on “I have way too much broth!

  1. EVERYONE seems to be getting sick–myself included 😦
    My coach actually assured me that, sometimes, getting sick can be an excuse for much-needed rest so your body can essentially “regenerate” itself. Dunno if that’s true, but I like the sound of it. PS I gotta try that chicken.

    • Ya I would agree (kind of) with your coach. Lower calories and high level of exertion puts a lot of stress on your body, lowering your immune system and makes you more susceptible to being sick. So you are definitely more likely to get sick during the final stages of all this prep, and in a way it’s your body signalling that it is overworked and underfed. And the chicken was awesome. I love Jamie Oliver’s cookbooks, not a tonne of paleo friendly recipes but a lot of them can be modified pretty easily!

Leave a Reply

