Knock your socks off Lamb Sirloin Chop

OMG guys, I cannot actually explain to you how amazing this dish was. I freaking devoured it! It probably helped that I really needed the fuel because I had just done a great run and upper body workout which I will tell you about after I give you the awesome recipe for the meal I just had.

Knock your socks off Lamb Sirloin Chop

Ingredients:

The lamb in the skillet with garlic and wine.

  • 1/2 lb lamb sirloin chop (it’s a very fatty and relatively tough cut, a shank would also work)
  • 2 cups red wine (I used leftover Ripasso I had from the competition)
  • 4-5 cloves of garlic, peeled and kept whole
  • salt and pepper for seasoning
  • 1 tbsp cooking oil of choice (I used bacon grease)

Directions:

  1. Season the lamb with salt and pepper and pat dry
  2. Heat a skillet to high heat and add the cooking oil
  3. Brown the lamb on each side, approx 2 mins per side, the fat should be starting to get crispy and the meat should be browning nicely
  4. Add the garlic and let cook on high for 1 minute
  5. Make sure the pan in nice and hot still and then add the wine, reduce heat to low and make sure it’s simmering nicely
  6. Cover the pan and simmer for 2-3 hours, I went to the gym in this time and it was definitely more like 3 hours.
  7. Remove the cover and turn the heat up and watch the pan until the wine reduced to a thick sauce
  8. Remove the meat to a plate and pour the red wine reduction over top
  9. If you have too much sauce like I did and you sautéed some veggies as a side dish, go ahead and toss those in the wine reduction for added flavour
  10. Devour the whole thing… but make sure that you shmear each bit with some of the now super soft garlic infused with wine

    The finished product, I promise it tastes better than it looks.

I served this with some sautéed onions and peppers that I tossed in the reduction and a half a sweet potato with some butter and salt. This was seriously un-freaking-believable. I will definitely be making this again with more than 1 serving and maybe a different meat… a game meat like elk perhaps?

Well since this is quite a rich meal (I am not going to even guess at the nutritionals because there was all sorts of fat that reduced down and probably mixed in with the wine, plus fat that I obviously did not eat) I figured I needed to earn this meal. While it was simmering away, I went to the gym and did the following workout. I felt great about it because it’s helping me move towards my November Promise of liking running AND building strength.

Upper Body Hypertrophy + Running

Cardio: Run 3 miles in 30 minutes (even though you want to stop because your legs are tired from the workout on Sunday!)

Stretch: legs – 10 minutes

Upper Body: all exercises performed 3 sets, 8-10 reps, with 1-2 minutes rest

When doing dips, remember to keep your shoulders down and head up!

  • Chin ups with a hammer grip (palms facing inward) – body weight only
  • 1 arm cable flyes – 17.5 lbs
  • Bent over pronated rows with wide grip – 90 lbs
  • Dips – body weight only
  • Lateral deltoid raises – 12.5 lbs dumbbells
  • v-up crunches on a bench – 20 reps and 3 sets

Stretch: upper body – 5 mins

I felt really great after this workout, in part because I ate really well all day. No sugary things and no huge portions! Yay for being good to your body!

One thought on “Knock your socks off Lamb Sirloin Chop

Leave a Reply

