Terrible food photos

Today I realized that starting the sugar detox I want to do next monday is not the best plan. Why? Because my face is breaking out like crazy, I’m having major sugar cravings all the time, and my immune system is shot to the point where I have an earache! Not cool body… not cool, but I know it’s my fault. I’m sorry body! By way of apology I will nourish you better, I promise.

Today I ate completely paleo… and it was all delicious. I made a discovery: coffee and coconut milk is amazing. No sweetener needed! I also made an awesome dinner.

Seared Duck Breast with Purple Potatoes!

Excuse the terrible photography

Ingredients:

  • Duck breast (the one I had was about 1 pound)
  • Purple potatoes (or any potatoes) about 4 medium
  • 1-2 tbsp butter
  • splash of coconut milk
  • Brussel sprouts
  • Cauliflower
  • Garlic
  • Salt, pepper and rosemary for seasoning
  • Coconut oil (or other fat to cook in)

Directions:

  1. Chop the potatoes into approx 1 inch cubes and put them in a pot with cold salted water. Bring these to a boil over high heat and boil for about 15 minutes or until a fork inserts easily.
  2. Once done, mash the potatoes with a fork, adding butter and coconut milk until desired consistency is reached. Season with salt and pepper.
  3. While this is happening, cut the cauliflower into smaller pieces and prepare the Brussel sprout by cutting off the end and discarding the outer leaves that fall off when you do this (apparently this reduces the bitterness).
  4. Bring a pot to a boil and steam the sprouts and cauliflower for about 8 minutes then set aside.
  5. Score the skin on the duck breast and season with salt, pepper and rosemary.
  6. Heat a skillet to high heat with about a tablespoon of whichever fat you are using, saute some garlic in it until fragrant and place the duck breast skin side down in the hot pan.
  7. Cook the duck on each side for 5-7 minutes, (or longer if it’s very thick).
  8. Ste the duck aside and keep the p[an on high. Add the steamed veggies to the pan and sautee for about 1 minute to add some flavour and crisp them up.

This was delicious. Please don’t be fooled by the terrible photography. My boyfriend and I are looking in to getting a good DSLR camera. So far the Nikon D3200 is looking like the winner. Plus a macro lens specifically for shooting food 🙂

What are your thoughts… any cameras you would recommend?

2 thoughts on “Terrible food photos

  1. Woah, I’ve never seen or heard of purple potatoes. I actually thought it was frozen yogurt/ice-cream in the picture! 😉 They look delicious, though. Oh, and I *love* coffee with unsweetened almond milk. 🙂

    • ha! that would be so weird, I didn’t know about them either, but whenever I see weird things in the grocergy store I am always tempted to try them. They tasted pretty similar to regular potatoes, but I assume they have a few more antioxidants based on the colour.

Leave a Reply

