Day 2 – 21 Day Sugar Detox

Day 2 is done and I have not caved. I have however eaten WAY more than is strictly necessary. I wasn’t hungry per se, but I was trying to avoid eating the dark chocolate that is staring at me from the pantry. And this is why the devil (read: unhealthiness) wins, because he has the chocolate. But no, instead I ate almond butter and too much dinner, which was sooo good.

Today was a double success because I also went to the gym in the morning with my besty. I did my favourite interval run which is a quick 20 minutes. and followed that up with an awesome upper body workout.

My food was…

Breakfast – banana, coconut milk and kale smoothie (how do bananas make kale taste good in a smoothie?)

PWO (post workout) – Chicken breast and green apple plus a coffee with cream and cinnamon ūüôā

Lunch – leftover stew from yesterday (FYI stews always taste better the next day)

Snack/meal РLeftover spaghetti squash with ground turkey and tomato sauce.

Snacks to avoid eating chocolate – spoonfuls of almond butter and a little cheese

Dinner – Rosemary pork chops topped with goats cheese with a side of steamed kale and roasted striped beets

How pretty do those beets look? And they tasted just as good!

So day 2 = success. The only bad thing is that I didn’t stretch properly after the run and it resulted in me having a spasm in my piriformus¬†(AKA my butt… that’s¬†right I’m currently having butt spasms). Maybe some of you have this problem too. It originates¬†in having tight hips and your back muscles try to compensate. This causes your piriformus¬†(the muscle¬†that runs across¬†the top of your glutes) to tighten and eventually¬†spasm. Unfortunately this muscles runs right across the sciatic nerve, so a spasm causes pain that is almost identical to sciatica, but it is very treatable through massage and stretching, unlike¬†actual sciatica. So for any of you out there suffering with sciatica symptoms… go see a physio¬†or a masseuse and ask them to check out you butt ūüėČ Also check¬†out this link to learn more about what the heck I’m talking about.

5 thoughts on “Day 2 – 21 Day Sugar Detox

  1. Huh – going to have to look into a butt massage! I have been gettting sporadic pains across my butt thinking they were sciatica symptoms, but guessing I’m not stretching enough (I know I don’t!) Going to break out the foam roller and check the link you posted.

  2. Pingback: Eating out with paleo « ErinLovesLife

Leave a Reply

