Structuring a fitness program

I rewrite my plans for fitness and nutrition probably once a month, sometimes less if I’m sticking with it really well; sometimes more if I’m not doing so great. But I always structure it the same way. It’s therapeutic for me and gives me a good outline of what I want to do. I don’t know if it’s the best way, but it’s what I like, so maybe you will find it helpful to.

This is the one I just wrote: PLEASE DO NOT COMPARE ANY NUMBERS I GIVE. WE ARE ALL UNIQUE!

Start date: January 8, 2013

Current weight: 149 lbs

Current Body Fat (if known): not sure, but probably about 24%

 

Goal date: May 25, 2013 (date of OPA competition)

Goal weight: approx 132lbs (Could completely change based on what I look like, but it gives me something to move towards)

Goal Body Fat: approx 12% (this means I probably need to gain 2 pounds of muscle as well as lose the fat)

Pounds per week to lose to reach goal: approx 1 pounds per week

 

Weekly Fitness Plan:

Outline:

  • Workout (weights) 3-5 days per week
  • 2 HIIT sessions plus 1-2 steady state cardio sessions per week

Monday: Heavy legs – focus on posterior chain

Tuesday: Yoga (or other active rest) + steady state cardio

Wednesday: Pull group + HIIT

Thursday: Lower body conditioning training (Plyos, tabatas, circuits etc.)

Friday or Saturday: Push group + HIIT

Sunday: Rest or Active rest

 

Daily Nutrition Goals:

Calories: Maintenance – 800 – 300 (i keep a 500 calorie range that changes depending on what I am doing that day or possible cycling of calories) for me this means about 1500 – 2000 calories per day

Protein, fats, carbs: At least 120 grams of protein, less than 120< grams of carbs, remainder of calories from healthy fats

Other: NO gluten, reduce grains, reduce milk and focus on nutrient timing.

 

I have put my actual stats in here because I know a lot of people find that helpful. But please keep in mind that I am relatively tall and have a lot of muscle on me. I do not want to influence anyone’s perception of themselves and am only trying to give you all an idea of what a high level plan looks like for me.

I, of course, get more detailed for competition prep, but for most of the time, this is where it stops.

I hope you find it helpful! 🙂

 

7 thoughts on “Structuring a fitness program

    • I’m 5’7′, medium build (based on shoulder width) and last time I checked had a lean body mass of 114 lbs which is how I’m estimating my body fat %. But I have likely gained some muscle too. Hope that helps. It really hard to compare 2 people even with things like body fat because 20% body fat can look super lean on one person, and kind of flubby on another lol 🙂

Leave a Reply

