The switch to health

I will be the first to tell you I am vain; I like looking fit. It is motivating for me and I like the idea of “wearing” my passion. When I look good (i.e. look like a fitness model) I feel like my impact on people is greater because they see that I have accomplished something myself. But something interesting has happened in this last year and I think in large part it is thanks to blogging.

Suddenly I am more interested in health for health’s sake and less concerned with looks.

It is for this reason that I have been looking more into paleo, hormones and eating clean because the idea of eating for how our bodies are designed makes a lot of sense to me and the science is now catching up with that logic.

The science is indicating that things like wheat and legumes are in fact damaging our bodies, fat is actually a vital source of energy and nutrients, and refined sugars are one of the worst things you can put in your body.

One of the things that I really want to start doing more is buying local and fresh, which is something that the paleo community really pushes. This not only supports your community’s economy, but actually boost you immune system.

Why would a red pepper grown 30 miles from my house be any better than one grown in another country? You might ask.

There are 2 big factors that make buying local really appealing, particularly for certain foods:

1. Nutrient content depletes the older the food is and local food is way more likely to have been picked recently and allowed to ripen before being picked. Certain food are a lot more susceptible to this and you can see it happening. Have you ever bought a bunch of dark green spinach and left it in the fridge for a week? It may have goone bad, but if it didn’t I bet it lost a lot of its colour. That loss of colour is indicative of loss of nutrients. Things like aliums (garlic and onions), potatoes, cauliflower and carrots don’t really lose their nutrients because they are hardier, but even these are beneficial to buy local because…

This image was selected as a picture of the we...

This image was selected as a picture of the week on the Malay Wikipedia for the 46th week, 2009. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

2. Local foods are grown in the same environment you are, which means they are exposed to the same allergens and soils that you are exposed to. Honey is a particularly good example of this; the bees take pollen from various flowers (that same pollen that causes my hayfever, for instance) and they make honey out of it. As long as the honey is unprocessed, you will then ingest that pollen and expose yourself to small amounts of those allergens. You are essentially inoculating yourself! How awesome is that!

6 thoughts on “The switch to health

  1. It’s a amazing the way our motivations change isn’t it? This is actually something I’ll definitely be writing on soon for L&S as well. For most people it all starts with one simple reason. Then it just grows and grows from there! I love it!

    • It really is. I have noticed a real shift in the way I think about things. Before I would go for things with splenda or low fat just because they were lower calorie. Now I find myself making things with maple syrup and coconut milk because of the nutrient profile even though they have more calories. Now I just need to find the happy balance. Might take a little time 🙂 Can’t wait to hear your views on this topic!

      • Thanks, maybe I’ll bump that up to Friday’s article. 🙂 Yeah this game is so fun. It’s never ending and we’ll never ever have it all figured out. I get so excited when I learn new things!!!!

  2. Pingback: Duck eggs and lamb burgers | On The Go Fitness

Leave a Reply

