Duck eggs and lamb burgers

One of my goals for this year is to buy more food locally. In trying to keep with this sentiment I have purchased meats from local farms (naturally raised meats) and headed down to the St. Lawrence Market this past Saturday to pick up some produce and support the local economy.

Some notable purchases include Ontario grown Brussel Sprouts, Fresh ducks eggs and Ontario raise ground lamb.

Breakfast of champions

Breakfast of champions

I realize I have not shared a recipe with you in absolute ages and since I have recently been cooking with some more interesting items like those mentioned above, I thought this is the perfect time to share.

The duck eggs I just cooked sunny side up and did not season with anything because I wanted to really taste them and notice if there were any differences. I would say that the yolk was creamier and denser with a slightly buttery taste. It was delicious… oh and the shells are green! This may have been why I bought them :-/

Anyways, on to actual recipes:

Lamb burgers (makes 4 burgers)

For me, lamb and cumin are two flavours that just go, so this recipe is pretty heavy on the cumin, just adjust if you are not overly fond of the combo (it makes it taste kind of like a gyro)

Ingredients:

  • 1 pound ground naturally raised lamb
  • 1 small onion
  • 1 egg
  • ½ tbsp cumin
  • ½ tsp salt
  • A few good grind of fresh pepper

Plus:

  • Buns of your choice (I use a Portobello mushroom cap that I cooked in the oven for about 5 mins of 350)
  • Toppings: goat cheese, lettuce, tomato

Directions

Lamb Burger and Portobello Bun

Lamb Burger and Portobello Bun

  1. Pre-heat a heavy bottomed or grill pan or barbecue to medium-high heat
  2. Mix all the ingredient in a large bowl with your hands (it just works better, trust me)
  3. Rinse you hands and leave them slightly wet (helps keep the meat from sticking to your hands); form the mixture into 4 evenly sized patties that are slightly thinner in the centre (for even cooking)
  4. Place the patties on the ungreased pan and cook for 5-7 minutes each side or until done in centre
  5. Arrange the burgers with desired toppings and enjoy.

Please do not grease the pan unless you are using extra lean lamb. It already has a lot of fat in it that will coat the pan as it cooks. I had to drain the fat off throughout the cooking to avoid “frying” the burgers.

Also note that the addition of bacon is always good idea, I just didn’t have any on hand. So if you do, make you mouth happy and add bacon. 🙂

3 thoughts on “Duck eggs and lamb burgers

  1. Pingback: Featured Food: Duck Eggs | Body Change Wellness – Indiana

Leave a Reply

