Cooking Healthy

So I’m sure you have seen a billion and one recipes on blogs, in books, in magazines etc. on how to make super delicious healthy food. Some of these are really simple, and some of these are pretty complex and even more of them have a laundry list of ingredients that you don’t have in you house.

Eating clean, balanced and tasty meals really doesn’t have to be hard. I use the same cooking methods over and over again for different ingredients and things usually work out pretty well. Most of the time I don’t think about what I want to eat until I am already hungry and therefore need something asap. Most of my meals are thrown together in 20 minutes or so and I usually make double or triple for lunches.

This is my basic formula for dinners (and lunches from the leftovers):

 

These get used almost daily.

These get used almost daily.

Protein – some form of meat gets cooked in my cast iron skillet. If it’s fish or chicken I usually stick a lid on to steam it for super juicy meat. Any other type of meat just gets a moderately high temperature.

Veggies – depending on what is on hand, either steamed or sauteed.

Steamed

Sauteed

Brussel Sprouts

Onions

Cauliflower

Snow/snap peas

Broccoli

Bell Peppers

Kale

Bok Choy

Asparagus

Zuccini

There are of course more, but these are what I cook regularly. I then usually toss a little butter, salt and pepper on the steamed veggies and put them on a plate.

Starch (if I have one) – usually squash or sweet potato and these usually get cooked in the microwave. I have never had a problem with this, but just get to know your microwave’s cooking times because it can really undercook or overcook things with only 30 seconds diference. If you eat grains, you can always cook a big batch of rice and reheat for meals throughout the week.

I have tonnes of pictures where you can see I have applied this formula. It’s quick, easy and tasty and because I can swap out a tonne of different ingredients I don’t get bored.

image[6]Form1Form4

Breakfasts are similarly easy and quick but are less formulaic. I usually have one of the following:

1)       Smoothie – Frozen fruit, dairy free milk or water and 1 scoop protein powder

2)      Omelet – 3 egg whites, 1 egg + veggies of choice + cheese (optional)

3)      Full breakfast – 1-2 slices of peameal, 1-2 eggs, 1 serving of fruit

Even cooked breakfasts only take 10 minutes. It really doesn’t take much time to eat healthy, it just takes some know how 🙂

3 thoughts on “Cooking Healthy

    • I usually stick with a little oil or butter because cast iron is finnicky and the natural moisture from the meat is enough to create steam, but occasionally I’ll add some broth or lemon juice or something.

  1. Pingback: Some budget friendly foodstuffs | On The Go Fitness

Leave a Reply

