Hungry for Change

 I watched a documentary last night called Hungry for Change. While it was not the most well produced or cohesive work, it definitely had a few take home points. Like my mother, that is what I try to do, look for the key points and add them to my little repertoire. It’s not a long documentary, about 1.5 hours, so if you have some time it’s an interesting watch. But if not, here are some of the tidbits I found interesting:

1) As a society we are overfed, but starving on a cellular level. What this means is that we are eating too many calories with too little accompanying nutrients. We consume refined sugar and flour that has been stripped of the nutrient profile that normally accompanies these foods. Sugar normally comes from fruit… a nutritional powerhouse of vitamins and minerals, and starchy carbs were usually found in vegetables and tubers, another source of food packed with nutrition.

2) We consume a lot of toxins. In order to neutralize these toxins and protect our body from them, the body stores them in fat, preventing them from getting into the organs and brain tissues. Our body will fight us losing weight if we don’t detoxify because it is trying to protect us from those toxins. If we lose weight without detoxifying (by eating good real foods), those toxins will be released into the system again and cause you to feel sick and cause many other problems. Therefore, in order to lose weight more easily, we must FIRST detoxify and heal our bodies.

3) Instead of saying “I can’t have” certain foods because I’m on a diet which causes your brain to go crazy and think you are starving yourself and makes you crave everything in sight, try ADDING good foods. Say “I will eat at least one salad of fresh veggies per day” and “I will have some organic chicken breast for dinner”. This puts you in a position of positivity. I CAN have these healthy, tasty foods. Not I CAN’t have this pizza and ice cream. If you add in enough healthy foods you will eventually crowd out the crappy stuff and voila… health!

4) Your skin is an excellent barometer of health because it is one of the last places to get nutrients. If your skin is clear, supple, even and not dry or oily, then it’s getting the right nutrients. If your skin is getting those nutrients, then you can be sure that your liver, kidneys, brain, lungs and muscles are getting fed the right stuff too. Vanity can be used as an outward sign of internal health. We evolved to find healthy people attractive, so the things that we find attractive are therefore, good signs of health.

Those were the main things I took away from this film.

Has anyone else seen it? What were your thoughts?

P.S. I know I have been less frequent with my updates. I am currently in the midst of audit busy season. This means my days are usually 8:30 am – 7 pm or later. So I have been prioritizing sleep and going to the gym. Bear with me please! I will try to update more regularly, but busy season can last a long time in my industry. Thanks for reading!

6 thoughts on “Hungry for Change

  1. Haven’t seen it but sounds interesting. Regarding #1, I think a big trap a lot of people set themselves up with is thinking that calories is the end all thing they should be looking at. What really becomes a disaster is when they drink a bunch of calories so they don’t eat food to make up for it which really deprives your body from what it needs.

  2. I just watched this a couple of weeks ago – they definitely covered some great points! It actually got me back on to juicing (I bought a juicer last summer for $20 off of Kijiji after watching Fat, Sick and Nearly Dead by Joe Cross), and it also opened my eyes to the benefits of buying organic (I’ve tried to buy mostly organic the last two times I went grocery shopping). Have you seen Vegucated, Food Inc or Fat, Sick & Nearly Dead (three that sort of cover similar topics)?

Leave a Reply

