Leftover herbs and a quick meal

Why do they always sell herbs in ridiculous quantities? Does anyone ever use that much dill or rosemary? What recipe calls for that? Grrrrr

Last week I bought a bunch of herbs including rosemary, chives, and parsley. The rosemary and chives were actually somewhat reasonable portions though they will most certainly go bad before I use them up, but it was the parsley that confounded me. It was a HUGE portion. Most recipes call for about 1-2 tbsp of chopped parsley. And I probably have a bunch the size of a head of lettuce. Ridiculous!

So I was trying to think of what to do with all this parsley when I realized that there was no way I was going to be able to use even a small portion of it in recipes… so I decided to make it a side dish in its own right!

Parsley

Yesterday I pulled off the leaves of parsley, dumped about a cups worth on the side of my plate for breakfast and squirted some lemon juice over. Apparently vitamin C like that in lemon juice helps make plant-based iron more absorbable, so why not?

It was good, no wait, it was great!

I actually liked it so much that I did the same thing for this morning’s breakfast… see?

I ended up making forkfuls of parsley and duck egg with all the nice runny yolk. So good! So if you have random left over parsley, you now know you can just eat it on its own… you’re welcome!

I also made a cleaned up version of a twice baked potato.

Twice baked sweet potato (for 1 serving)

Ingredients

  • 1 small sweet potato
  • 2 slices of peameal or about 150 grams
  • ½ small onion, diced
  • ¼ cup chives, chopped coarse
  • ¼ cup melting cheese, grated (I used low fat mozzarella because it’s what I had in the fridge)
  • Cooking fat for the pan

Directions

  1. Cook your sweet potato either in the microwave or oven until doneTwice baked
  2. Set your oven to broil
  3. Fry the peameal bacon and sauté the onions until soft
  4. Cut the now done sweet potato in half and scoop out the flesh
  5. Once the peameal is done, dice it into small pieces (like regular bacon would be in a twice baked potato
  6. Mash the flesh of the potato and combine it with the chives, onion and peameal then scoop it back into the skins of the sweet potato
  7. Top the restuffed potatoes with a little cheese each and set them under the broiler for a minute or two.
  8. Devour.

This all comes together in about 15 minutes (if you use a microwave) so it’s a great meal for a weeknight or in my case, post-workout when I am famished and desperately need food NOW.

 

Leave a Reply

