Jamaican Goat Curry

I bought some goat when I was last up in Ottawa mostly because I have never in my life had it and thought it would be interesting. But then came the inevitable *wait… what they heck do I cook with this* thought. Needles to say, Google came to my rescue and since what I had was stewing pieces of goat, I really only had 2 options. (1) Stew – which I do all too frequently and (2) curry – but not just any curries, there were an abundance of recipes specifically for Jamaican curries. So I looked up a bunch or them, bought some curry powder and did what I always do with recipes… that is. looked up about 10 different ones, looked for the common element and then make up the rest.

No wonder my boyfriend doesn’t understand my cooking method. I almost never follow a recipe unless it’s baking… and even then. So just so you know… 99% of my recipes have at least 2 ingredients who’s measurements have been approximated because I cook to taste. I’m sorry!

Anyways…. This was what I did.

My Jamaican Goat Curry

Ingredients:

Curry

  • 2 lbs stewing goat meat (or shoulder meat cut into 1 inch cubes)

    Ingredients for the marinade

    Ingredients for the marinade

  • 4 carrots
  • 3-4 medium parsnips (or 2 huge ones which is what I had)
  • 1 large onion
  • butter with which to cook
  • 15 oz. can of crushed tomatoes or tomato sauce
  • 1 can coconut milk
  • 1/2 cup white wine
  • 2-3 cups of water or beef broth
  • 3 cloves of garlic, minced
  • 2 1/2 tbsp curry powder
  • 1/2 tbsp allspice
  • salt and pepper to taste

Marinade

  • 2 1/2 tbsp curry powder

    The marinade per-goat

    The marinade per-goat

  • 1/2 tbsp allspice
  • 1/2 tbsp ginger powder (I had no fresh ginger)
  • 1/2 tbsp salt
  • 3 tbsp fresh cilantro, chopped fine
  • 1 tbsp chili pepper paste (I buy a tube from the grocery store. but it’s about 1 small chili pepper)
  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • 3 tbsp water (or enough that when combines it becomes a paste)

Directions:

  1.  Combine the first 5 ingredients for the marinade in a bowl and whisk together to evenly combine. Add the chili paste and olive oil and mix well with a whisk. Add the water 1 tbsp at a time until you reach a paste consistency that will spread and coat the meat (thinner is a little easier, but don’t make it too thin or it wont stick).
  2. Remove goat from the fridge and pat dry with paper towel (so marinade will stick), then toss these in the bowl with the marinade and make sure the marinade coats each piece. I used my hands for this but be forewarned that they turned slightly yellow from the curry.

    Setting nicely wile I chop

    Setting nicely wile I chop

  3. Cover this and let sit for 1-2 hours so the meat can come to room temperature. If you are leaving it to marinade longer just put it in the fridge and remove an hour before cooking.
  4. While the meat is marinating, dice your onion and chop the carrots and parsnips into bit size pieces. I leave the skin on my root veggies and just wash them well because it’s less work and I find they hold up better, but feel free to peel them.
  5. Coat the bottom of a dutch over pan (or a heavy bottomed soup pan) with some of the butter and brown the meat on medium high heat in batches. Do not crowd the pan. Cook the meat in one layer so each piece gets brown properly and remove it to a bowl. It took me 3 batches to do 2 lbs. Make sure you add a little butter after each batch so the pan doesn’t go dry.

    DSC_0401

    No crowding

  6. Add some more butter to the pan and sautee the garlic and onions for about 5 minutes or until they start to brown.
  7. Add the meat back to the pot and toss everything around. Then add the white wine and scrape the bottom of the pan to deglaze it and get all the caramelized yummy bits off the bottom.
  8. At this point at the rest of the ingredients except the water and salt and pepper and stir everything around. Then fill the pot with enough water to cover the contents and add salt and pepper to your taste. You can also add more chili pepper or a scotch bonnet pepper for more heat and authenticity, but I’m a wuss and like it mild.

    All in the pot

    All in the pot

  9. Bring this all to a boil and reduce the heat to a simmer. Cover the pot and let this cook for 2 hours. Remove the lid from the pot and continue to simmer until the sauce thickens to your liking. Mine took about 45 minutes.
  10. Serve alone or with some rice (cooked with tumeric to get this lovely colour).
The finished product

The finished product

Leave a Reply

