Roasted Chicken and a Run

I am not a runner.

I am not built for running.

I have remnants of childhood asthma.

I have more muscle than the average bear which means I have to lug around more weight than most runners.

Also, I do not believe that “runner’s high” is a thing, you’re all liars, because 99% of the time I am running I am thinking about the fact that it feels like I’m going to die.

At least when I run outside…

Sooooooo I went for a 6 km run outside with my boyfriend this weekend and did hill sprints and proceeded to realize all these things.

BUT I am going to run until I like it! Or at least until I don’t hate it. 🙂

Starting a hill sprint string and upright

Starting a hill sprint string and upright

finishing it in a bear crawl because it was muddy and I was slipping... it was also crazy steep!

Finishing it in a bear crawl because it was muddy and I was slipping… it was also crazy steep!

We did hill sprints up a smaller (but still big) paved hill 2 times in the middle of the run (i.e. after running 3 kms) and then started running back and noticed a ridiculously steep, brambly “hill” (aka sheer cliff) that I thought would be a good idea. Which it was, until we started running back. I had to walk frequently but managed to keep up an ok pace. I am going to try to run outside (weather permitting) 3 times a week.

Some times I wonder how I can love sprinting so much, love lifting so much and generally love all activities SO MUCH, and just not like running. But there is no way that is stopping me!

Also this weekend I stopped off at my local organic/natural butcher…. Marlon’s at 2636 Yonge Street and grabbed a whole organic chicken to cook up with the fresh herbs and heirloom carrots I picked up on my Saturday morning trip to the St. Lawrence… oh yes, I do love Toronto and all the options we have here for food!

Cooking a whole chicken is such a great way to get multiple meals in one shot, and if you guys have been reading for a while, you know I’m all about cooking multiple meals at a time. Obviously it’s not all only white meat like cooking just chicken breast is, but since I’m not in competition prep at the moment, that’s A-OK by me. Yummy crispy skin and the delicious dark meat bits from under the chicken are a serious weakness of mine.

I have posted my method for roasting chicken before but in case you’ve forgotten, here it is:

Whole Roasted Chicken (using Jamie Oliver’s method)

Ingredients

  • Whole chicken (5 pounds)DSC_0059
  • 5 carrots
  • 2 onions
  • 5 sprigs fresh thyme
  • 3 tbsp chopped fresh parsley
  • 5 cloves garlic
  • olive oil to coat the bird
  • Salt and pepper to season

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 475 F DSC_0066
  2. Remove chicken from fridge and let sit at room temp for 30 minutes
  3. Wash and roughly chop the carrots, onions, and garlic and line the bottom of a shallow roasting pan and drizzle with some olive oil. No need to peel the veg  at they are just being used as a trivet for the chicken.
  4. Drizzle the chicken all over with a little olive oil and sprinkle with the herbs and salt and pepper all over including inside the bird
  5. Place the chicken on top of the veggie trivet and stick it in the centre rack of the oven and immediately turn the oven down to 400 F
  6. Cook for 1.5 hours, basting once in the middle or until the internal temp is 185F.

I absolutely love whole roasted chicken, and when I know it’s organic and raised right that make it that much better… not to mention the taste is always so much more flavourful!

 

 

8 thoughts on “Roasted Chicken and a Run

  1. Hey, I just discovered your blog! I love roasted chicken too, it tastes so juicy and tender! Did you ever try to make a chicken soup from leftovers (including the bones)? Just chop some celery, onions and carrots, lightly caramelize them in some onlive oil and then add water. When your chicken is ready, you can take the bones and smaller pieces like the wings and drop them in your soup, and boil everything for 40 mins. Add some parsley at and noodles 10 min beforethe end. It will give an amazing roasted chicken taste to it and you don’t have to use store bought chicken broth, which most often contains MSG and unhealthy fats such at cotton seed oil/soybean oil.
    p.s. I’m from Montreal 🙂

Leave a Reply

