WIAW and getting back in the gym

Wow what a busy day yesterday was! Highlight of the day was FINALLY having a family doctor again 🙂 I’ve been going to walk ins for way to long.

Amongst the crazy running around I managed to keep my diet pretty tight… woot! I only missed a picture of dinner because I literally ran into my house, scarfed down the dinner my boyfriend was kind enough to have sitting there for me, and run back out the door to get to the aforementioned doctors appointment.

Breakfast – 1 thick slice peameal (about 100 grams), 1 duck egg, 1/2 large tomato grilled with some smokey grilling spices.

Breakfast - low carb and yummy

Breakfast – low carb and yummy

Morning Snack – 3/4 c. non-fat, plain greek yogurt with 4 large strawberries sliced up and sweetened with a bit of stevia, accompanied by coffee number 2

Yogurt bow

Yogurt bow

Lunch – Leftovers (as always) 6 oz. of roasted chicken, about 8 spears of asparagus and 1/2 cup of roasted carrots and parsnips

Leftovers as always

Leftovers as always

PWO/Afternoon Snack – Ginger Banana Paleo Muffins (modified from this recipe) and a protein shake.

PWO paleo muffin

PWO paleo muffin

Dinner – 5 oz. chicken breast with about 1.5 cups broccoli (sorry, no picture)

Late night snack – some rooiboos teas sweetened with a tiny bit of honey and 1/4 of an avocado (which I season with montreal steak spice before that’s how I roll)

Yummy avocado

Yummy avocado

Tea steeping in my lovely self-painted tea pot

Tea steeping in my lovely self-painted tea pot

That full day broke down to :

Calories – 1418

Carbs – 95 grams

Fat – 52 grams

Protein – 152 grams

I like that macro mix, but the calories are a little low, especially for a day I was working out and I have a feeling that the low carbs contributed to the fatigue I felt during my workout. I think I will be adding in more carbs on the days I do legs or HIITs. PLEASE just accept that those numbers are what I ate that day and not a recommendation, everyone is different!

And I finally got back in the gym yesterday after almost 3 weeks away, yikes! Not that I haven’t been active, but I love my weights and missed them! So I was really excited to finally get into the gym and pump some iron, only to feel completely out of it and really struggle through the workout. I guess it serves me right for abandoning the gym. Nonetheless I got through most of what I wanted, even if I only did 2 sets of each of the last 2 exercises. I’m definitely sore today, which I was expecting given how hard everything felt.

But want to know an amazing secret?! Of course you do.

There is such a thing as muscle memory! It’s really a life saver because there will be times that you can’t make it to the gym for a couple of weeks like me, but you don’t have to start from square one again. You’re body remembers where it used to be and it’s a lot easier to get back to that level, than it was to get there in the first place.

I find that I struggle for about 2 weeks whenever I try to get back into it. The first week I have to back off a little and I do get DOMS, but the second week I am way better and not as sore, while my strength is still a little less than normal. Then by week 3 all is well in the world, the endorphins are back and me and Gym are best buds again. 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

