Workplace temptations

As you might know from past posts, I am an accountant, specifically I am an auditor (not taxes, nothing to do with taxes). Accounting is not a notoriously healthy profession. It is in fact a notoriously sedentary profession that encourages extremely long hours where the only rewards for your over time is they “treat” you to dinner. Obviously that dinner is not going to be a salad. it’s frequently greasy and definitely not on the diet. It’s a hard situation for many people in my profession who are trying to maintain a health lifestyle. You are working hard and you probably feel like you “deserve” that food as a reward. Now that isn’t specific to accountants of course. It’s something we are all do, and workplaces can be terribly difficult to navigate.

 

I have heard many a fellow fittie lament the fact that their office has a donut platter every Friday and there seems to be endless supplies of birthday cake (how many birthday’s can one office have?!). Not to mention that it seems for some reason that people actually take offense when you don’t partake in the treats!

 

So how do you navigate the workplace while keeping you figure?

 

Some tips that I employ are:

 

  1. For people you are working with consistently, try to explain your choices and lifestyle so they know what you are doing and why you are politely refusing the cake

    English: Starbucks at West Coast Plaza, Singapore

    English: Starbucks at West Coast Plaza, Singapore (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

  2. Bring enough snacks and food to get you through the whole day and maybe some overtime so you don’t get tempted by hunger
  3. Find someone who has similar interests to you and try to buddy up at lunch. Having support makes making healthy decisions so much easier.
  4. Picture yourself refusing that cookie so when it happens in real life it feels like a natural thing to do.
  5. Have an option for something that feels like a treat that you can go to if you need to. For me its a skinny vanilla latte from Starbucks.

 

I’ve been lucky to have co-workers who are interested, more than critical about my lifestyle. I’ve been even luckier to work with a girl who is also training for a competition (needless to say the conversations between us tend towards the fitness topics).

 

Workplaces are hard to navigate but not impossible. Stay strong and use your support network 🙂

 

10 thoughts on “Workplace temptations

  1. Thanks for the tips. I can’t wait to start using them in my workplace. I’m in IT and bookkeeping which is also super sedentary. Every pay day the office orders a pizza, this week I’ll turn down a slice.

  2. Yeah it’s everywhere at the workplace. The good news is if you stick to your guns long enough people eventually won’t even bother to try to get you to eat those foods anymore. People around my office know I’m not going to eat any of that stuff anymore, so they don’t even ask now. haha The hard part for most, is getting themselves to stay away consistently though. Good tips!

  3. You’ve got some good tips here. The teachers’ lounge at my school is frought with cupcakes, muffins, bagels, and more recently an entire platter of bon bons. I am in a position where I can just stay out of the lounge, which really helps. I also of course bring all my own food. I have found though, that once you explain your position relating to fitness, people are pretty much respectful.

    • I have found the same thing. And probably half the time people start asking a tonne of questions. I work with different people every 2-3 weeks so I have to go through the explanations a LOT. But usually for those few weeks I’m working with that group they start to bring in healthier food. It’s kind I nice to see it rub off a little. Even temporarily.

Leave a Reply

