PrOATein Bars Review

So as I mentioned in my last post, I picked up lots of goodies at the Toronto Pro Supershow. I have tried a couple now and wanted to give you guys the low down.

PrOATein Bars

These things are awesome. They of course are not paleo friendly as their base is oats and they are not 100% gluten free, though they do use gluten free oats. I have not noticed any digestive issues with them and I have had one per day since Sunday.

I tried all three flavours; Peanut Butter Jelly was my favourite, but it is also slightly higher in cals at 222 per bar, followed by Cinnamon Raisin in a close second with only 196 cals/bar and surprisingly the Chocolate Strawberry was only so so in my opinion. The nutritional stats on these bars are pretty good, if a little high carb for a typical bodybuilding type diet with between 4-6g of fat, 25-27g of carbs and 15 g of protein. You can fact check me and also buy the bars here.

What really sold me on these bars is the ingredients. The icing coating has a few questionable things in there like sunflower oil and soya lecithin, but the remaining ingredient are things you could easily buy yourself. Things like oats, honey and raisins. But most importantly, the only protein they are using is… Whey protein isolate! For those of you who don’t know, most protein bars use soy protein because it’s super cheap, but it’s also been shown to have some terrible health consequences including an increased risk of breast cancer because all soy products are estrogenic  meaning that they increase the Estrogen in the body. Estrogen also inhibits muscle growth, which if I’m not mistake, is probably the opposite of what you were going for with a protein bar. Stick with protein sources from pretty much anything other than soy. Some that I know are really good are: Whey, Casein, Egg Whites, Beef Isolate, Hemp, Pea and Vegatable blends.

I’ll be reviewing Kick from Revolution Nutrition tomorrow.

Disclaimer: None of the companies have asked me to do these reviews or given me any incentive to do so, I am simply sharing my thoughts in the hopes that it helps someone else make some informed choices about the products they buy.

 

8 thoughts on “PrOATein Bars Review

    • haha, probably not the biggest concern of most but still valid. Oats along with most grains can lead to systemic inflammation and I don’t necessarily recommend making the a daily part of your diet. Everyone should evaluate their own tolerance to various foods.

Leave a Reply

