Competition mindset

It’s been just over a week now since I started competition prep and I wanted to talk a little about my mindset and how it has changed since I competed last year.

I realized only now that by the time I actually started “prepping” for the show that I did last year I had already attempted 7 weeks of prep 5 months earlier when I injured myself, AND I had essentially been dieting (i.e. restricting calories and monitoring exercise and food) for 13 months… that’s a long time. What I have come to realize is that I was already a little burnt out by the time I even started my prep, so while I was definitely excited and committed to compete and do well, I felt deprived and restricted.

This time around, I have essentially been off dieting for about 9 months. Albeit there were always a few weeks here and there where I attempted to lose some of the weight I had gained in the off season, but never for long and never very restrictive. Going into this prep now I feel so excited and determined. I do not feel limited so far and have not craved a cheat meal. I have so much more knowledge and a huge support group that I have met through this blog, the show, and Team SiS.

I am, however, slightly terrified that I am coming into this prep too heavy and won’t be able to lose all the weight before the show, or at least not without dropping my calories lower than I want to and doing some long cardio sessions. I know that this is weighing heavily on my mind (pun intended) because last night I had my first competition nightmare. I was in some sort of airport/mall and everyone was eating ice cream. Ice cream is my FAVOURITE! So I had some, I didn’t ever have a lot, and I didn’t feel bad about it in the dream… until I remembered I was competing. Then I started trying to calculate how many calories were in it and if I could work it off etc. etc.

For the record, I am not craving sweets in real life, not do I try to “work things off” if I choose to have something that is not part of the diet.

I think, more than anything, this was about feeling that I have a lot of fat to lose in a short amount of time (please keep in mind that I’m only talking about competition prep here and not normal life in which I’m perfectly happy with my weight).

Me looking very sweaty from running sprints this morning.

So, this morning when I didn’t want to get out of bed, I did anyways. I went and did my 15 sprints, and then did 1 more for good measure. But I will not reduce my calories, or car cycle out of fear. If at the end of this week I have not dropped weight, I will re-evaluate my plan and determine if I should make an adjustment. That is what I do at the end of every week.

I will stick to the plan, and I will not do anything drastic, because I want this prep to be an example that you can compete while being healthy. Not to mention that I personally want to remain healthy in all aspects throughout this prep.

I’m sure many of you have felt this way at some point or another. You are following a plan, but the scale isn’t moving… or it’s not moving as much as you want it to. So you panic and you do something drastic, and then you rebound and you fell off the wagon. Well I won’t succumb to the temptation and I hope you won’t either.

We all need to work at being more moderate with our approach to our bodies and remember that this takes time. So I will wait and see what this week holds. I will do all of my scheduled workouts, and I will eat the way I had planned. And we shall see!

 

 

3 thoughts on “Competition mindset

  1. I love you so much, woman! I really like that you explain for readers who might not yet be familiar with you that this is competition prep and focus on the health aspect of your cutting.

    Good luck and I’m looking forward to seeing the progress!

  2. “I’m sure many of you have felt this way at some point or another. You are following a plan, but the scale isn’t moving… or it’s not moving as much as you want it to. So you panic and you do something drastic, and then you rebound and you fell off the wagon. Well I won’t succumb to the temptation and I hope you won’t either.”
    I’ve felt this way too many dang times! I was always an impatient person so whenever I felt like I wasn’t making progress in the past I would try to do things the faster, yet very unhealthy way. It can be hard to stay healthy when you’re impatient, or have a certain date you’d like to meet your goal by. But real results take time, and it’s worth it.
    Good luck with your prepping!

  3. Sounds to me like you are in the perfect spot honestly. I know you follow Layne Norton closely so I also know you know better than the long cardio bouts and drastically reducing calories and all that. You know what to do, just do it and it will all work out I’m sure. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

