Progress and workout splits

So I am just over 7 weeks out from my 2nd fitness competition and I weight like 8 pounds more than I did at this point last year :/ So I’m freaking out a little. But looking at the pictures, I look about as lean as I did last year. I’m not sure how confident I am that I actually put on 8 pounds of muscle in a year, but if that’s the case… rock on!

Here are some comparisons from when I was 6 weeks out last year, vs. 8 weeks out this year. I am a little leaner in the 2012 picture, but definitely in a similar spot. So as lot as I give it my all I should be ok, right… RIGHT?! haha

One of the things I’ve changed in my ever evolving plan is the structure of my cardio… I added fasted cardio about 2 weeks ago, and it hasn’t made the scale move, but I feel like it is impacting my leanness, so I’m going to stick with my 40 mins 2 times per week at the moment. I’ll probably increase that up to 60 mins 2-3 times per week by the end and keep my 3 HIIT sessions a week for 15-20 mins a piece. Overall that’s still a LOT less cardio that many competitors do and shouldn’t negatively impact my metabolism.

My calories are hovering anywhere between 1500 – 1800 per day with one cheat meal per week and I have not been systematically carb cycling yet. I plan on doing that starting next week. As I get closer to the stage I will keep my calories between 1500 – 1600 and just cycle carbs not calories.

But the change I’m most excited about (and the one that has nothing to do with weight loss) is that I’m moving to a 5 day split instead of my current 4. Can you guess what is getting its own  day?

SHOULDERS!!!!

Well, shoulders and abs, but shoulders are the thing that I’m excited about if you couldn’t already tell. I’ll probably throw in some biceps there as well since my back workouts seem to be pretty long these days.

And today is my first shoulder workout 🙂 This is what I have planned:


I also plan on doing some HIITs on the stationary bike. I may need some coffee today 🙂 wish me luck for my self imposed torture!

4 thoughts on “Progress and workout splits

Leave a Reply

