Paleo Protein Coffee aka. Egg Latte

Oh my freaking god guys! This is literally the best thing I have done in months, possibly years!

Don’t freak out… but I put eggs in my coffee this morning.

The egg portion, pre blending.

The egg portion, pre blending.

So I am in the midst of carb cycling, and it makes me do funny things. On low carb days I usually crave things like fruit and popcorn, but especially things that are “creamy and sweet”… think lattes and ice cream. Yum!On high carb days I actually tend to really crave salt, which is fine… but I think I am actually craving salt and FAT, which is not so good. Like nachos usually sound like heaven… salty tortilla chips, MOUNDS of cheese and guacamole.

Obviously this is a problem, so when I saw the Mark Sisson had posted about putting egg yolks in his coffee instead of the standard bulletproof coffee of butter or coconut oil, it got me thinking that this might just be able to hit the spot for a faux latte and will be packed full on protein and good fats, and I can add whatever amount of carbs I need depending on the day 🙂

So this morning at 5:30am I ground some coffee and set the water to boil while I cracked 2 eggs plus 1/4 cup of egg whites into my magic bullet. At this point (the one pictured) I started to have doubts… does that not look gross? I am not drinking that!

I added 1 tbsp of maple syrup to help fuel my workout, but stevia would be fine too (today is “low” carb, not “no” carb… so I also had a half a banana to bring total pre-workout carbs to about 30 grams). So now I’m thinking this is basically drinkable coffee custard, which also doesn’t sound all that appealing :S

But I persevered!

 

Egg latte? That’s what I’m going with.

I blended the maple syrup and eggs until nice and frothy in my magic bullet (about 10 seconds). Then poured in about 1/2 cup of the hot coffee to temper the eggs (you don’t want them to cook and get a chunk of egg… ew) then added the rest of the coffee. I added a little cinnamon, and reblended everything so there was a nice thick head of foam… and took a tentative sip.

Um… woah… ok you NEED this in your life. 

It was delicious and all fears were completely unfounded. It sort of (by sort of I mean basically identical) tastes like starbucks egg nog latte with like 1/3 the calories and none of the crap!

Also, I’m not sure if I was just really excited or if there is in fact something magical about blending eggs and coffee, but I was instantly wired. I think I scared my boyfriend whom I may have jumped on while still asleep to explain that I am a genius 😉 That energy stayed with me and fueled me through my chest and triceps workout, and even had me raring for HIITs!

Pumped up!

Pumped up!

So the conclusion is that you need to try this, and you can definitely modify it to fit your macros. Here is the recipe and nutrition as I made it this morning:

Ingredients:

  • 1.5 – 2 cups hot coffee
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/4 cup egg whites
  • 1 tbsp maple syrup
  • 1 tsp cinnamon

Directions:

  1. Brew coffee
  2. Add eggs, egg whites and maple syrup (or sweetener) to a blender and blend until frothy
  3. Add 1/4 – 1/2 cup of coffee slowly to the egg mixture and stir to temper the eggs
  4. Add remaining coffee and blend again until desired frothiness (totally a word)

Nutritional Info: Cals – 230   Carbs – 15g   Fat – 10 g   Protein – 20g

If you use non-nutrative sweetener the carbs will be 0 grams 🙂

You’re welcome!

15 thoughts on “Paleo Protein Coffee aka. Egg Latte

  1. This sounds awesome. Its strange too. But not as strange as the standard issue crap people are made to believe is normal. I love it.! Usually before my shift at the fire house I have to get up so early I just have a protein shake and some fruit. I then make a full egg breakfast when I get to work. But this will change everything!
    Question: Can I add brewed coffee from the pot to temper or do you need to add boiling coffee?

  2. Reblogged this on and commented:
    This may sound weird guys but is it any more weird than the crap that we get out of processed foods? Hellz No!
    Fred (LHXC)

  3. Pingback: Pumpkin Spice Egg Latte | realfoodbusylife

  4. Pingback: Paleo Protein Coffee aka. Egg Latte |

  5. Ok, as crazy as it looks and and much as I’ve hated eggs in the past, I’m convinced that I need to give it a go. I also thought bulletproof coffee would be gross before I tried it and I love it!

  6. Pingback: BulletProof Coffee – Week 4 (Final week!) | Voracious Vividity

  7. That’s my morning coffee EVERY morning , pre workout.

    Try this:
    1scoop protein (I use cookies ‘n cream)
    1egg
    1Tbsp coconut oil
    1Tbsp MCT oil
    1Tbsp raw cacao powder
    1tsp cinnamon
    Pinch of salt
    Pinch of coconut sugar (or stevia,or whatever sweetener)
    1cup of your favorite coffee

    Blend all together.
    Thank me later 😉 😉 😉

  8. We have something like this in Sri Lanka called muttai kopi which is exactly like your recipe 😉
    They even have this in Indo but its called teh talua and is made with tea, condensed milk and egg

Leave a Reply

