Healthy Protein Treats

Ok, so I have discovered Protein Pow in the last few week and I’m seriously wondering how I have gone this long without discovering this website!? Her stuff is amaze-balls. It’s so tasty and very healthy, AND lot’s of the stuff actually is low carb and high protein… and then there are high carb options with the protein too for the high carb days. But it’s pretty hard to find legitimately “low carb cakes that are tasty, so finding ones that are calls for some serious celebration.

So I tried out this recipe for low carb chocolate cake and topped it with a vanilla and greek yogurt protein ice cream. And it came out beautifully.. as you can see 🙂

This turned out sort of soufflee-ish and was awesome warm or cold.

This turned out sort of soufflee-ish and was awesome warm or cold.

What’s nice about this recipe is that the cake is actually healthy, not just “healthified” or “healthier” but actively helping you on your way to achieve greater health. Woohoo!

So then I wanted something pumpkin-y, but it was a low carb day… so my go to pumpkin oats were not an option 😦 So inspired by Protein Pow, I decided to try to make a protein mug cake that was not bone dry and rubbery (like most are). I took the idea of using a “moisturizer” ingredient in order to counteracts the drying effect of whey and also incorporated coconut flour which seems to help with the cakey consistency. It was awesome! Here is the recipe.

Pumpkin Protein Mug Cake

Ingredients:

  • 1 scoop vanilla whey protein powder

    The slightly raw in the centre microwave pumpkin protein mug cake

    The slightly raw in the centre microwave pumpkin protein mug cake

  • 1 tbsp coconut flour
  • 1/8 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp pumpkin pie spice (or more to taste)
  • 1/4 cup egg whites
  • 1/3 cup pumpkin puree (just plain pumpkin)
  • 2 tbsp milk (I used 1% goat’s milk, but any milk will work)
  • Stevia or other sweetener to taste (if needed)

Directions:

  1. Mix the first 4 ingredients (dry ingredients) together in a bowl until well incorporated
  2. Mix the remaining ingredients into the dry mix until all lumps are gone and batter is smooth
  3. Grab a mug or bowl that will hold about 2 times as much batter as you have (it expands a lot!) and grease the inside with pam or coconut oil or whatever tickles your fancy and transfer the batter into the greased container
  4. stick the mug in the microwave and microwave on high for 90 seconds, then check for doneness, continue microwaving in 30 second intervals until set through. Mine was a little undercooked in the centre on the bottom, but I didn’t mind, it was yummy 🙂
  5. Flip the cake out onto a plate and top with whatever you like, I didn’t use any toppings because it didn’t fit my macros for the day and it was delicious and moist and cakey all on its own!

*** If you want to change the flavour of the cake just swap out the pumpkin puree for some non-fat greek yogurt and you have a neutral base to work with, you can then change the flavour either with different protein powders, or different additives, like peanut butter, cocoa powder, mint extract, coconut flakes etc. You can also change the pumpkin for banana, sweet potato, or even apple sauce, but those would all change the nutritional info and make it higher carb. The possibilities are endless! ***

Nutritional Info:  Cals – 270   Carbs – 16 g    Fat – 4g (2 g from the pam)   Protein – 40 g!!!!!

Now on that note, since I have had 4 of these delicious protein cakes of some sort over the last 8 days, I seem to have reawakened my sweet tooth. That’s no beuno this close to the competition.

Side note: Oh my god…. realization just hit me… My competition is EXACTLY 1 month from today… EEEEEEEK!!!!!!!!

Ok, so I have decided not to make any more of these and to try to limit my artificial sweeteners (even stevia) to my protein shakes and coffee or tea. I will definitely be back to making these after contest prep though 🙂

2 thoughts on “Healthy Protein Treats

  1. Pingback: Pumpkin Protein Mug Cake | Svelte Philosophy

  2. I just made this with Cellucor Cinnamon Swirl protein and cooked it as pancakes. Holy smokes! I have a new protein pancake recipe that has awesome stats! Thank you!!

Leave a Reply

