So much contest prepping!

I forgot how much fun it can be to try to make really (like really REALLY) good food while in contest prep mode and carb cycling and working out like a fiend. I have been slacking on the posts, but making up for it with amazing kitchen creations… which I will share over the next few days. Here is a little teaser of the recipe’s I will be sharing.

Super Fluffy Protein Pancakes

Super Fluffy Protein Pancakes

Low Carb Taco Salad

Low Carb Taco Salad

But today… today I will share with you my new favourite low carb recipe. It’s so good I was making embarrassing noises while I ate and my boyfriend kept giving me weird looks.

Salmon with Cauliflower Asian Fried Rice

I have tried cauliflower rice before and I was kind of disappointed in it to be honest. It just tasted like rice shaped bits of cauliflower to me. But now I have found the secret, and it is frying 🙂 It’s a little time-consuming, but makes a large portion and is so worth it!

Cauliflower Asian Fried “Rice”

Makes 4 servings (1 cup each)

Ingredients

  • 1 medium or half a huge (which is what I had) head of cauliflower
  • 1 small red onion
  • 1 cup snap peas
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 thumb sized knob of ginger (or more to taste)
  • 1 cloves garlic
  • 2 tbsp extra virgin coconut oil
  • 1 tsp fish sauce
  • 1 tbsp soy sauce

Directions

  1. Wash the cauliflower and chop it up into 1 inch pieces making sure to dry them off.

    Everything in the wok.

    Everything in the wok.

  2. Pulse the pieces in a food processor about 20 times until you get uniform rice-sized pieces. I had to do 3 batches because I have a small processor, but make sure not to over process it.
  3. Put processed cauliflower in a bowl lined with paper towel to absorb excess moisture and set aside.
  4. Dice onions and snap peas and add them to the cauliflower.
  5. Grate ginger and garlic on a microplane and set aside.
  6. Heat the 2 tablespoons of coconut oil in a large wok or frying pan and sautee the ginger and garlic until fragrant and slightly browned (about 3 minutes).
  7. Add the cauliflower, onions and snap peas  to the pan and mix well to incorporate the ginger, garlic and oil; continue mixing for 5 minutes until onions start to become translucent and everything starts to brown slightly.
  8. Make a well in the centre to expose the pan and crack the eggs into it, scramble these with a spatula until the are almost cooked and then fold everything back together so the egg gets distributed through the whole dish.
  9. Drizzle the fish sauce and soy sauce over the mixture and toss in the pan for another 1-2 minutes until desired consistency is reached.
  10. Serve as a side dish or add some leftover chopped up chicken or shrimp and make this the main course.

Nutritional Info (for 1 cup):  Cals – 170   Carbs – 15 g   Fat – 10 g   Protein – 8g

I think cauliflower might be a new go to thing for me. I will be trying out cauliflower mashed “potatoes” tonight as another low carb option and I’m hoping it goes well. I think the key is to season it really well so you don’t have an overpowering “cauliflower” taste.

And just to give you an update for contest prep, I am 4 weeks out from UFE Halloween Mayhem and finally losing some weight. The progress came a little late in the game, so I won’t be as lean as I was hoping for, but I will certainly be lean enough to not look out of place and I hope I will still do well. Here is a progress pic from yesterday morning, which is exactly 4 weeks out from the competition.

image[1]

5 thoughts on “So much contest prepping!

Leave a Reply

