Low carb fluffy pancakes

So I was going to post this recipe yesterday only I got busy at work, and then went to hang out with my sister and watched Aladdin and made red thai curry. Oh that and my brain isn’t working because I’m outrageously sick. I’ve been sick since Saturday to be honest but I was “pushing through” because I’m less than 4 weeks away from the stage and really can’t afford to just rest. Only now my body is basically giving me no choice. Today will be spent drinking lots of tea and looking up ways to deal with chest congestion and head colds. If anyone knows of a secret cure for a bad cold please let me know so I can get better and get back in the gym!!!

Anyways… pancakes. I made these for a weekend breakfast because I wanted something filling, low carb and NOT eggs. I love eggs but even I get sick of them sometimes. But most protein/low carb pancakes are either not really that low carb, or turn out kind of gross because they are just straight protein powder and egg whites. Well I’m here to tell you there is a third option. Coconut flour is something I am rapidly learning to love and it is what makes these pancakes so good. When combined with Whey protein it really lends a nice “cakey” quality and its low carb and super high in fibre, so the carbs it does have are not really going to impact your blood sugar which is the real issue at the end of the day.

I will forewarn you that with the vanilla protein powder I was definitely able to taste the coconut flavour, so if you aren’t a fan of coconut I would try it with either additional vanilla, or chocolate whey or some other flavour to help mask the coconut. Thankfully, I looooove coconut so I thought this was great.

Low Carb Fluffy Pancakes (serves 2)

Super Fluffy Protein Pancakes

Super Fluffy Protein Pancakes

Ingredients:

  • 2 eggs
  • 1/2 cup egg whites (or 4 egg whites)
  • 1/4 cup milk (I used 1% goats milk)
  • 4 tbsp coconut flour
  • 1 scoop vanilla whey protein powder
  • 1/4 tsp baking powder
  • 1/8 tsp salt
  • Pam/butter/fat for greasing the pan

Directions

  1. Put eggs and egg whites in a blender and blend until fluffy (about 20 seconds) – I think this is part of what made them so fluffy and awesome
  2. Add the remaining ingredients to the blender (other than the fat) and blend until well incorporated and smooth
  3. Heat a large pan to medium heat and grease with whatever fat you are using, then scoop 2-3 tbsp of batter at a time to make small pancakes – I have had much better luck with smaller pancakes when it comes to protein pancakes
  4. Cook until bubbles start to appear (about 2-3 minutes) then flip carefully and cook on the other side for 1-2 minutes. Repeat this until all the batter is gone – I got 12 small pancakes from this recipe
  5. Serve with your favourite toppings – I used a half scoop of chocolate whey powder mixed with a little water as a “syrup” because that is what fit my macros

Nutritional Info:   Cals – 240   Carbs – 11 g (5 g of fibre!)  Fat – 8 g  Protein – 31 g

 

10 thoughts on “Low carb fluffy pancakes

  1. Pingback: The. Best. Protein. Pancakes. EVER. |

  2. Pingback: “Fluffy” Protein Pancakes « don't trust someone who won't eat vegetables.

  3. Pingback: Playing with Food 6/1/14 and Walking My Talk | Good 'N Good For Ya

  4. Pingback: Playing with Food 6/8/14 | Good 'N Good For Ya

  5. Pingback: Playing with Food 8/25/14 & Brownie Batter Protein Pancakes | Good 'N Good For Ya

Leave a Reply

