Technology and fitness make a great pair

While I have not been really keeping up with the blogger challenge, there are a few topics that I really like and in which I definitely want to participate (yes that is grammatically correct, no it doesn’t look right or sound normal… shhhh). One of those topics is music. More specifically what music motivates you while working out.

I should preface this by saying I have an entirely eclectic taste of music and will listen to everything from dubstep to country ballad and everything in between. But there are certain things that just work or don’t work when you are trying to push through a tough run or beat your max squat.  I try to make  playlists for the different workouts that I do, but I have been slacking recently and my music selection is getting a little stale… time to refresh. Here are some recommendations based of the exercise you are doing:

Interval runs – anything and everything by The Fratellis. These guys somehow have the perfect intensity and tempo for pushing me through that last minute at 9 mph when my lungs are burning and I really want to pretend that they timer says :00 not :47.

A particular favourite of mine is Chelsea Dagger, I always try to make it the last song on my playlist. Some other ones that get my feet moving are:

  • Hey Mama – The Black Eyed Peas
  • Minority – Greenday
  • Accidentally in love – Counting Crows

Steady state cardio – any pop-ish country songs that are upbeat. I love Sugarland songs and Shania Twain, but if you aren’t a country lover (what’s wrong with you?) most upbeat pop/easy listening type music will work. Some examples for you:

For the country lovers:

  • Any man of mine  – Shania Twain

    Shania Twain, live in Wembley, UK

    Shania Twain, live in Wembley, UK (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

  • Mean – Taylor Swift
  • Red High Heels – Kellie Pickler
  • It Happens – Sugarland

For non-country lovers:

  • F**k you – Cee Lo Green
  • When I am king – Great Big Sea
  • The underdog – Spoon
  • Don’t stop me now – Queen

Heavy Lifting – this is where the rock and club music come into play. Think Timbaland and maybe some Rob Zombie. You want something that is a little angry, maybe some swearing and something with a slower but heavy tempo. Stuff like:

Plyometric or circuit style workouts – These workouts are always fast paced and music can either improve your pace or drag you down, so choose carefully. This is one that I really need a good playlist for because I usually don’t have time to fiddle with my iPod to get a better song. I use faster pop songs and sometimes some house or dubstep. Don’t judge me for these examples… I told you my taste was eclectic!

  • Paper planes – M.I.A.
  • Shake Tramp – Marianas Trench
  • Take it off – Ke$ha
  • The fame – Lady Gaga
  • Sexy and I know it – Party Rock

What about you? Any music I should be adding to my workout repertoire? Give me some ideas because I definitely need an update!

3 thoughts on “Technology and fitness make a great pair

  1. Pingback: MAKE: technology on your time | Tim Batchelder.com

  2. It is quite true that music does have an impact on our workout and one should try to listen to different types of music while exercising. The combinations that you have mentioned are really great and I must also appreciate the topic that you have chosen for your blog.

Leave a comment